Guest Teacher Program

Guest Teacher Program

Lincoln Intermediate Unit 12 offers Guest Teacher Training on behalf of Adams, York, and Franklin County school districts.

Individuals who have earned a bachelor’s degree in any field of study are eligible to apply to become guest teachers. The PA Department of Education (PDE) allows school districts and intermediate units to apply for emergency certifications for qualified applicants. Applicants who complete Guest Teacher Training requirements are eligible to substitute in LIU 12 classrooms and participating school districts in the area (listed at the bottom of this page).

LIU 12’s guest teacher training includes two segments: online training and on-site orientation at LIU. Online training requires approximately 8.5 hours of viewing time, which can be completed at the applicant’s convenience. Orientation dates occur on a rolling/ongoing basis and will be scheduled after all prerequisites are completed. 

Prior to online training and orientation, the following items MUST be received by the LIU 12 Human Resources Department:

  1. Guest Teacher application
  2. $75 non-refundable training fee (check / money order – payable to LIU 12)
  3. Two completed reference forms: Reference Form

NOTE: After your application has been submitted and reviewed, LIU will contact you via phone and/or email to proceed. Please do not submit payment, references, or Act 168 forms until you have been contacted by LIU.

Once the required items listed above have been received by the LIU Human Resources department, applicants will be contacted via phone and/or email in order to schedule orientation and receive access to the online training. 

 For more information, please call (717) 624-6467 or email

School Districts:
Bermudian Springs School District
Central York School District
Chambersburg Area School District
Conewago Valley School District
Dallastown Area School District
Dover Area School District
Eastern York School District
Fairfield Area School District
Fannett-Metal School District
Franklin County Career & Tech.
Gettysburg Area School District
Greencastle-Antrim School District
Hanover Public School District
Littlestown Area School District
Northeastern School District
Red Lion Area School District
South Eastern School District
South Western School District
Southern York County School District
Spring Grove Area School District
Tuscarora School District
Upper Adams School District
Waynesboro Area School District
West York Area School District
York City School District
York County School of Technology
York Suburban School District